## 8 December 2020

Attention: Minister of Education Hon Chris Hipkins <u>c.hipkins@ministers.govt.nz</u>

Minister for Māori Crown Relations: Te Arawhiti Hon. Kelvin Davis <u>k.davis@ministers.govt.nz</u>

Open Letter

Tēnā kōrua e ngā Rangatira, Hon Chris Hipkins, Hon Kelvin Davis

## Māori Professors Support Glass Ceiling Research and Reissue Call for a National Review of Universities

We, the undersigned, as Māori Professors from Aotearoa New Zealand's Universities, write to reissue our call for an urgent national review of universities for te Tiriti o Waitangi compliance. Further evidence of systemic racism and ethnic inequities in the sector was published last week in "Glass Ceilings in New Zealand Universities: Inequities in Māori and Pacific promotions and earnings" (MAI Journal, 2 December 2020). We add, the ceiling that impedes Māori and Pacific advancement to senior tertiary *leadership* positions is more like concrete than glass (rare success is mostly limited to Māori-specific leadership roles to lead primarily Māori staff).

We applaud the government for enacting the Education and Training Act 2020 that now requires Universities to honour te Tiriti o Waitangi. We praise the government for the Tertiary Education Strategy 2020 that reinforces tertiary institutions must: be places of learning free from racism; reduce barriers to Māori to participation and success; meaningfully incorporate te reo Māori and tikanga Māori; and enhance the contribution of mātauranga Māori in addressing local and global challenges.

But we have little faith that the University sector will meaningfully rise to these expectations without government intervention.

We reiterate our general observations that Māori staff and students in Universities are not currently protected from institutional and systemic racism.

We reissue our call first made in September 2020 for a nation-wide review of the University tertiary sector for the purpose of committing to, and accelerating with priority, a tertiary sector that honours te Tiriti o Waitangi so as we can offer a flourishing place of learning and research for all, including Māori.

We seek to meet with you to ask for the government's help and leadership in issuing a statement of expectations, conducting a Tiriti audit, and developing and financing an action plan to transform institutional leadership to meet the expectations of the Tertiary Education Strategy 2020.

Signed

Professor Jacinta Ruru FRSNZ, Professor of Law, University of Otago

Professor Margaret Mutu FRSNZ, Professor of Māori Studies, University of Auckland

Professor Jo Baxter, Professor of Hauora Maori, University of Otago

Professor Antony Braithwaite, Professor of Pathology, University of Otago

Emeritus Professor John Broughton CNZM, Professor of Dentistry, University of Otago

Professor Chris Cunningham, Professor of Maori Health, Massey University

Professor Jarrod Haar, Professor of Human Resource Management, Auckland University of Technology

Professor Brendan Hokowhitu FRSNZ, Professor of Māori and Indigenous Studies, University of Waikato

Professor Huia Jahnke, Professor of Māori and Indigenous Education, Massey University

Professor Robert Jahnke ONZM, Professor of Maori Visual Arts, Massey University

Professor Merata Kawharu MNZM, University of Otago

Professor Joanna Kidman, Professor of Maori Education, Victoria University of Wellington

Professor Tahu Kukutai, Professor of Demography, University of Waikato

Professor Bev Lawton, Professor of Women's Health, Victoria University of Wellington

Professor David Lont, Professor of Accountancy & Finance, University of Otago

Professor Angus Macfarlane FRSNZ, Professor of Māori Research, University of Canterbury

Professor Tracey McIntosh MNZM, Professor of Indigenous Studies, University of Auckland

Professor Hirini Matunga, Lincoln University

Professor Helen Moewaka Barnes, Massey University

Professor Linda Waimarie Nikora FRSNZ, Professor of Indigenous Studies, University of Auckland

Professor Suzanne Pitama, Professor of Hauora Maori, University of Otago

Professor Suzanne Purdy, Professor of Psychology, University of Auckland

Professor Papaarangi Reid, Professor of Māori Health, University of Auckland

Professor Nicolette Sheridan, Professor of Nursing, Massey University

Distinguished Professor Graham Hingangaroa Smith, Massey University

Professor Huhana Smith, Professor of Art, Massey University

Professor Pou Temara, Professor Reo and Tikanga, University of Waikato

Professor Linda Tuhiwai Smith FRSNZ, Professor of Māori and Indigenous Studies, University of Waikato

Professor Chellie Spiller, Professor of Leadership and Management, University of Waikato Professor Michelle Thompson-Fawcett, Professor of Geography, University of Otago